Rumi

Since tomorrow is also the first day of Ramadan, the work of Rumi, a 13th century Persian mystic, poet, and scholar of the Qu’ran, is also a fitting subject of reflection. His 800th birthday even inspired an official celebration by UNESCO last year.

Coleman Barks is one of the most famous contemporary translators of Rumi’s work and often does readings accompanied by Persian music. Listen to this Real Audio excerpt from the CD “I Want Burning” featured on Learning Out Loud (click on Play under the picture of the CD). You can also read several of his poems on this page from the UMass Rumi Club. The first one featured is one of my favorites:

This Great Love Inside Me

I am so small I can barely be seen.
How can this great love be inside me?

Look at your eyes. They are small,
but they see enormous things.

Comments Off on Rumi

Filed under beauty, faith, humanity, spirituality, wisdom

Comments are closed.